Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Morning my lovely readers!! Hope you are all ready for Christmas or whatever it is that you do with your family and friends during the holiday season. This was one of those books that was continually on my radar but I never got around to reading it as it is a multiple books within the series. Just based upon the cover I wasn’t ever too sure that this book would be for me. But I decided I better get around to reading it as its been sitting on my To-Read list but also had a few people ask about it is well. This mornings novel is “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” written by Ransom Riggs. I do realize that many people are torn about this novel; this is partly because everyone gets different ideas from a book that they read. Because of this be positive – some books don’t work for some people and that’s perfectly fine. So please don’t harass because of some else’s reasons for not enjoying a book. 

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is written by Ransom Riggs it has a total of 352 pages and I rated it 3.7/5 cups of tea. 

I will warn that this book can be a tad scary or actually even disturbing at some points but I found it quite adventurous in addition to those scenes and those parts where enjoyable; so if you can make it to those scenes I’m sure you will enjoy some parts of this book. It also did land on my Top 10 Read Books in 2016. If your still worried about being scared it’s about the same as Harry Potter (which is a bit scary I will admit). 

What I liked?

  • The Peculiar Children were the true idea of what I wanted for the whimsical, yes they were a bit off the beaten path but I think it fed the right information to the story. 
  • Really liked the world of 1940’s and how well it was described in addition to how well it worked with the characters in the story especially Jacob who believes he isn’t special in anyway – it follows him in a way that is seen to eat away at him throughout the story (which added an interesting dimension). 
  • It was whimsical but also had some firm belief within reality. 

    What I disliked?

    • The love story/ love interest was a bit out there with the idea that Jacob’s grandfather had possibly loved the same girl…
    • Was a bit scary at times – not a book I would say should be recommended for a very young audience. 
    • Writing could have used some help at scenes where I noticed grammatical errors. 

    Overall, I liked where this story took me and I really thought that it was a fair trade off betwern action and adventure set along with historical records. The monsters were well written and the Baddies may have even given me a few nightmares as well. (They really don’t come up in the story until closer to the end.) I also liked that Miss Peregrine was the right personality to help bring you closer into the storylines. Very impressed with where the story and characters took me. Glad to see this series on many book shelves, haha. I would definitely recommend “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” to anyone who enjoys historical referenced stories as well as anyone who likes a bit of horror mixed into their storylines. Happy reading! – Tegan 

    Leave a Reply

    