Alternity by Mari Mancusi

Hello and welcome back to my world of books today I’ve been busy between trying to finish all my reviews and their corresponding books/series. As well as also working on getting ready for Christmas and packing for my vacation in the new year. So, I’ve been busy just like the rest of you have I’m sure. Today’s book that I’m reviewing is “Alternity” written by Mari Mancusi. I really love how this book flowed as well as the characters of Skye and how she reacted with Dawn. 

Alternity is written by Mari Mancusi it has a total of 236 pages and I rated it 4/5 cups of my favourite cups of tea. 

Skye Brown was normal ordinary even but then she starts having the odd dreams and she’s faced with a world where the Earth is gone. In her dreams, Skye isn’t Skye instead she embodies a rebel-leader fighting for freedom for the people caught in a messy battle between the mundane and the mystic. Fighting for a shocking truth that ends up rocking her reality more than she thought it would. 

I found that this book although it is one of my favourite this year very difficult to review because if you give too much away with it. You really end up just giving away the entire storyline and where the choices do end up taking the characters – some in ways I would have never guessed. 

What I liked? 

  • It was well written – adding up that it was sad, hilarious and very intriguing. 
  • Skye had me pulled right into the story – something that I always look for in a storyline or short book like this. 
  • I didn’t want it to end!!!! 😦 
  • Also I love, love Dawn she’s amazing! 
  • I particularly liked the Dystopia world “Terra” one of my favourite worlds. 

What I disliked?

  • I found that the basic world was a tad confusing with the dreams mixed in with reality. It led me around and around because it was hard to wrap my head around it. Really it just took me rereading some scenes in addition to rereading particular chapters. If you don’t mind being confused and putting in more effort then it isn’t too much of a big deal. 

Overall this book, like I said before is one of my favourite books that I read in 2016 and you can find it here as well: Top 2016 reading list. I know this might seem like a very short review and it kind of is. The reason being is that I would love to rave about this book but the issue with that is that the entire story would be given up then. And my hope instead is that you read it yourself and hopefully draw your own thoughts from it. This is one of those storylines that really needs to give its secrets away as you read not all at once – basically it relies on deception to build the plot as well as characters up. I hope you enjoy it all the same and happy reading 📚. – Tegan 

Leave a Reply

