The Raven Boys

Good evening, or rather it’s technically almost the AM. I wasn’t sure if I was going to get around to writing this review this today. Because I’ve been out working on little chores for my house. Also I’ve been doing a lot of painting today…and I truly believe that art is therapy for the soul. I find it relaxing and well as I great way to spend a day when it’s truly nasty outdoors. Any who, I hope you are all having an amazing day where ever you are in the world. Hope it was relaxing as mine.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater has a total of 409 pages. I rated it 4/5 cups of tea. 

I welcome you to a world where nothing is as it really seems where true love could be a death sentence. A world where your own mother is psychic but you haven’t inherited the same “gift.” Until the day where you a highly wealthy young man who has private school written all over him. And even though he may be a giant asshole – you can’t stop thinking about him. This world is full of angst, love, anger, dangerous adventures, and what it means to find real friends in the world.

I really enjoyed how Maggie Stiefvater wrote the boys characters. They all have different personalities that are very different but at the same time they all get along great. Now you throw in Blue’s characters who is very unique in her own way…she’s special in her way which she slowly sees through the help and friendship of the boys. (Especially Adam).  I found that the love stories were sweet and brought the story line together very well, now that being said I was extremely surprised at the end of this book. It did not go the way that I thought that it would. Unfortunately, there is nothing I can say above the giant cliffhanger or even the last couple of chapters without giving away any spoilers. But I will say that the last few chapters run fast and hard. Which I found a great way to finish off this first book of this series. My reasoning for this is partly because there are a couple chapters that drag in the middle of this story.

Now on to what I enjoyed…

Picking a favorite character is a bit of a struggle..but I found Blue and Noah’s characters very desirable. Now that being sad that may be because they are polar opposites but you can still see how much they care about each other. I’m looking forward in seeing where they’re friendship goes.  Although this book has multiple moments of strong fantasy and magic I see found that the characters stayed grounded. Yes this story keeps you guessing, but not in a I-have-more-questions-than-answers. My favorite part of the story would be a GIANT spoiler if I shared it…so I guess you’ll have to read this one if you want to guess what it is. I will warn that this book has a way of twisting your heart strings and you will be crying at some point. Don’t fight it just let it happen!

What I didn’t like?

The ending of this young adult book is most definitely a cliffhanger. Which is off except that so so so many books like ones written for this kind of audience so often has a cliffhanger which I mostly annoying. Are there characters I didn’t like? Yes their are a couple but the thing about that is that I never start reading a character expecting to love every single character. That being said; there is one particular wack-job that is afraid the boys and Blue that I wasn’t all that proud of partly because he could have been better written.

Overall I’m glad I read this first book in the Raven Cycle even if I did put it off for so long. As well as the fact that the characters kept me going even when I thought I had had enough. This is a great book for young readers (14+) but I would still suggest this book to young adult readers because I could still connect and follow everything go on in this new different look on this kind of magic. I hope you enjoy this one as much I did. Hopefully, down the road I will be reading the next 3 books in this series. Til next time. – Tegan

 

Leave a Reply

